I’m quitting sugar

… for lent.imageWhich is why yesterday this donut happened and it was delicious.

It’s not the first time I’ve given sugar the flick. Back in 2012 I successfully stopped eating the sweet stuff after the whole acute hepatitis episode.

Since then I generally try and keep it to a minimum, and although I don’t think I eat that much- certianly less than your average Aussie- I have noticed myself allowing more of it to sneak in recently.

So when one of my cousins mentioned that she’d given up added sugar for Feb Fast, and reminded us that lent started this week I was inspired. Sugar be gone! The fact that I nearly made myself I’ll on the stuff this past weekend probably helped.

I won’t be following the IQS (or any other) program, instead just going with the flow and being mindful about what goes in my mouth.

There is a good chance the next 40 days will include a fair amount of peanut butter… Wish me luck!

Leave a comment