The Run Diaries: 10k week 2

image

I can’t quite believe I’m already 2 weeks into my training. This week I missed one session on Friday due to some serious cake baking that was taking place (more on that another time).

2 runs this week and I felt pretty good during both of them. The first one was run-walk-run. The second run part was tough, not from a breathing point of view, I think I am getting better at controlling my breathing. But my legs felt so heavy when I started running after the walk section, they were seriously lead-like. I pushed through but I think my pace was slower than normal.

The second was run (2 min)- walk (1 min) intervals. I was sweaty and red faced by the end but felt pretty awesome. All of my run intervals were quick (for me), well under 6 minutes per km. It definitely felt like a natural, comfortable pace, however it’s not one I think I could maintain for a full 10k. So that’s something I’ll be working on.

This week too included my first “virtual run” with the Hogwarts Running Club. I’ve not done a virtual fun run before, but it was nice to think that people from all over the place were doing their own 5k too. I’ll definitely be signing up for another one. image

So week 2 is done and dusted. Looking forward to week 3!

Leave a Reply

