Miss Chu

Most nights of the week I am a bit of a shut in. I get home from work, the BF and I cook dinner and proceed to sloth it on the couch for the rest of the evening. I tend to start getting ready for bed around 9pm. I love sleep.

I broke out of my routine this week and visited a friend on the south side for some dinner and gossip.

Not really knowing where to go I let her take the lead and she crushed it. A two minute walk from her house to Toorak Rd and we were inside Miss Chu.IMG_4826I looked up and loved the fact that the light shades were bowls. I’m sure we had some of them in our house when I was a kid. IMG_4825

Time to order. The menu isn’t huge but it was still a difficult task to decide. As you would imagine the drinks menu proclaimed ME THIRSTY! Tick what you want an wait for your waitress. IMG_4827

IMG_4828The lighting was a wee bit dim, so my friend’s coconut-lychee-cucumber slushie doesn’t look as good as it tasted. You can even get these babies with a slosh of vodka for a couple of extra bucks. IMG_4829First up we had rice paper rolls. Egg, avocado and caramelised onion. Delicious. I easily could have eaten both.  IMG_4830

Lemongrass beef with noodles, chilli and coriander (cilantro). I ended up eating the lion’s share of this bowl. Punchy, fresh perfection.

After this one another round of rice paper rolls arrived for my companion and my green pawpaw and tiger prawn salad hit the table. I dug in so quickly there was no time for a photo… IMG_4831

Everything we ordered was fresh, flavoursome and light enough that you could clean the plate and not feel uncomfortably full. My kind of meal.

Next time I will definitely be ordering a coconut slushie.

Oh, and if you live in the area… they deliver.

 

Leave a Reply

