Vanilla almond choc-chip cookies

IMG_4803

 

I baked cookies. Honestly, I probably shouldn’t have because I’ve already eaten 3. It happened. The recipe is from The Whole Pantry app, which if you’ve not discovered yet I highly recommend. It’s full of tasty, healthy recipes and general goodness.

All of these healthy hints are perfect when trying to change your eating habits, as I have been since returning from Europe (we’ve now been home longer than we were gone, that means it’s time to plan the next trip, right?) I’ve been focusing on real, whole foods, nothing processed or refined. The only time that feels a little difficult is when you want a treat. But not anymore!

These babies tick a whole heap of boxes… Paleo- check! Vegan- check! Gluten free- check! Refined sugar free- check! You can even make them nut free, by substituting sunflower seed meal in for the almond meal. There are only a handful of ingredients, and they come together and are ready for the oven in less than 10 minutes flat. IMG_4799Dry ingredients meet wet ingredients… the warmed up honey and coconut oil smelled absolutely incredible. IMG_4801Crumbly but combined. At this point you have to exercise some serious self restraint to not eat the whole bowl like this. I managed to hold off until I had twelve cookies ready to go- then I ate the remaining mixture and was tempted to eat one two cookies raw. IMG_4802Ready for the oven. I put them in for 10 minutes to start with, and they didn’t need anymore (keep an eye on them just in case). They’ll be super soft when you pull them out of the oven but they firm up as they cool.

I will most certainly be making these babies again. I briefly considered making a second batch today- it may still happen…

Vanilla almond choc-chip cookies (from The Whole Pantry app)

Ingredients:
1.5 cups almond meal
2.5 tbsp coconut oil, melted
0.25 cup cacao nibs
2 tbsp maple syrup (I used honey due to my lack of maple syrup)
1 tsp vanilla
0.25 tsp sea salt (I forgot this…)
0.25 tsp baking powder

Method:
1. Preheat your oven to 170*c (340*f)
2. Combine all ingredients in a bowl (I melted my coconut oil and honey together first)
3. Mix it up
4. Portion onto a lined baking tray, press down slightly
5. Bake those suckers for 13 minutes (as I said mine only needed 10, but I may have a hot oven)
6. Leave them to cool- yes this is necessary, they’ll fall apart if you try and sneak one early
7. Eat ’em! IMG_4791

2 thoughts on “Vanilla almond choc-chip cookies

Leave a Reply

