Normal

IMG_0749About 9 months ago I was in hospital with a super inflamed liver. I was having daily blood tests (my arms were a charming shade of purple) that screened for the alphabet of Hepatitis viruses, but every single one came back negative. I was asked over and over if I had any tattos (nope), piercings (not for about 5 or 6 years), or was an injecting drug user (never in my life).

After 3 or 4 days my blood tests peaked, my ALT (an inflammation indicator) was sitting at around 3100 and my Billi Rubin (I’m still not sure what this one does) was nearing 200. They were supposed to be 30 and 15 respectively… Other people’s livers had failed before getting to numbers this high and yet mine was still doing what it needed to. I felt like a character on House, the doctors were stumped.

After a biopsy I was diagnosed with Auto-immune hepatitis. Then it was time for the drugs. I was put on Prednisolone (a steroid) and Imuran (an immune suppressant).

On Wednesday I took my very last steroid tablet. Today I had yet another follow up and was told that everything is now back to normal. NORMAL. Not the ‘high end of normal’, just normal.

I cannot explain the relief. It’s brilliant.IMG_0769

Leave a Reply

