Hobart: Day Three

First out of bed and showered, again (dried with a full size towel though thanks very much). While the others got ready I trimmed and washed the fresh Tasmanian strawberries from the market. IMG_1741A pre-breakfast snack if you will. Delicious, obviously.

We didn’t have much of a plan for Sunday. Breakfast was naturally on the agenda, some wandering in search of earrings (for mum), terrarium kits (for sister) and a NAB ATM (for the sis-in-law), collecting food for a picnic. IMG_1740My mocha. The first coffee I’ve had since July. Thoroughly enjoyed.

IMG_1739Mushroom, yet again. This breakfast was my favourite of the three days. Poached eggs, sourdough, bbq mushroom and fried haloumi. I think haloumi should make more appearances on breakfast menus, who doesn’t want fried cheese for breakfast?

IMG_0002Our wanderings took us past this darling shop, which had the terrarium kits. You can see one of them to the left there. Sadly it was closed. I would like to have a shop called The Cat’s Pyjamas.

IMG_1767Perhaps I have a thing for cats… because I was also enamoured by this teapot. I’ve not seen it in Tea2 stores in Melbourne!

IMG_1738Oh bakeries. How I love you. Considering a gluten free future does have its drawbacks… We took a baguette and green olive and basil loaf for the picnic collection. I was also very tempted by the ciabatta. IMG_1756So, with picnic supplies purchased we jumped into the car and took off for Richmond. According to the website it is one of the most important historical towns in Australia. I’ll be honest, Richmond oversold itself just a little… this bridge was the highlight, nuff said? So where to now? Back in the car we thought we’d head toward water. After much driving we ended up pretty much where we started in Richmond.

IMG_1754Picnic time. BOOM.

IMG_1753The view wasn’t bad either…

The winery closed up and we still had some time to kill before our flight. Off to the beach we went.

IMG_1766I was too much of a wuss to even dip a toe in. I was told it wasn’t that cold though.

IMG_1763Feet in the sand.

IMG_1760I sent this one to the BF. Yes, sometimes I am unapologetically cheesy.   

IMG_1762Mini (dead) crab.

IMG_1761I find it near impossible to walk down a beach and not pick up shells. These three were my favourites.

When the unrelenting sea breeze became to much back into the car we got and headed to the airport.

Thank you Hobart for a delightful three days. Hopefully next time I can explore a little more of the apple isle.

Leave a Reply

