Workin’ it: swimming!

20130219-212244.jpg
I read a lot of blogs. While perusing one last week, The Londoner, I was inspired to go swimming. I decided that as of this week swimming would wiggle itself into my weekly workout routine. So I got myself ready, breakfast, check, lunch, check, snacks, check. I packed up all of my things ready to go. I do not need excuses to not get up at 5.30am, it’s always better to be prepared.

And the result of all my preparation? Well I can proudly say that this morning I went swimming. I’ll admit that this does not sound like a particularly exciting thing, however, the last time I went to the pool was over 12 months ago and it wasn’t altogether successful.

So when I jumped in today and started freestyling down my lane- aqua play in the 25m pool, just in case things went bad- I was pleasantly surprised that I did not drown mid lap and stayed in the water for a good 45 minutes! Granted I was not swimming the entire 45 minutes, but it was so much better than I was expecting. And when a fellow jumped into the aqua play lane 30 minutes in I even felt comfortable enough to move over to the “medium” lane.

Feeling ridiculously pleased with myself and already cannot wait for Thursday.

Leave a Reply

